We would like to invite you to the
1st South African Congress of Oncology (SACO)
to be held from 9-11 August 2019 in Cape Town.

The SA Congress of Oncology is a collaboration of SASCRO, SACCSG, SASGO, SASOPh, NONSA & AHP's, SAOSWF, SAAPMB and Radiation Therapy Radiographers. This collaboration of multiple disciplines involved in the management of cancer promises to be the start of long and mutually beneficial relationships to build on the knowledge, expertise and vision for Oncology.

The 2019 Congress will take place at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC).

The Cape Town International Convention Centre is located in the heart of the city. The convention centre has it all: it is accessible and highly-accommodating, and provides flexible facilities that will meet the needs of delegates, sponsors and exhibitors.

With its breath-taking scenery, immense cultural and natural heritage, and world-class congress and hotel facilities, Cape Town is one of the world’s most sought-after travel destinations. Known as the Mother City, this busy cosmopolitan hub, located in the Western Cape, is becoming increasingly celebrated in the congress and convention scene, both locally and internationally.

The congress will have morning educational sessions, followed by plenary sessions and disease specific proffered papers chosen on academic merit. International speakers have been invited for their academic excellence and willingness to engage in the congress. There will be sessions which deal with education and research which is relevant internationally as well as locally.

The Congress promises to be educational, rewarding and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you to the Congress in Cape Town.

SACO is honoured to host The Archbishop Desmond Tutu Distinguished Lecture for the first time at the congress.

Please return the Intention Form to us as soon as possible.

Kind regards

  • Prof Alicia Sherriff (SASCRO)
  • Dr Jan du Plessis (SACCSG)
  • Prof Hannah Simonds (SASGO)
  • Ms Petra Fordelman (NONSA)
  • Ms Memory Munodawafa (SAOSWF)
  • Ms Carien van der Merwe (SASOPh)
  • Dr Deirdré Long (Radiation Therapy Radiographers)
  • Dr Pieter du Toit (SAAMPB)